Fringe Factory Review #7

Le Grand-Guignol Sur La Prairie

2009-75007-program

Maybe it was because it was late, maybe it was because I was tired, maybe it was because I had a long week, but Le Grand-Guignol Sur La Prairie just didn’t cut it for me.  The venue held a lot of promise:  A space above Ragpickers, which is an excellent spot to locate vintage costumes, if you’re into that sort of thing.  In fact, the antique surroundings and the cramped seating arrangements lent themselves almost perfectly to the performance at hand.

It was unfortunate, though, that most of the actors did not live up to the full potential of their surroundings.  The play presented several horror sketches throughout the 75 minute performance, most of which featured very similar characters.  Even more unfortunate was the execution of most of the characters.  They were portrayed in rather drab terms, with the exception of the one actor who wore glasses… he showed skill and potential (don’t know his name).  And another actor showed much potential, but perhaps not as much skill.

The plot of each story in and of itself was okay, but like I already say, the execution was mediocre.  I wouldn’t say this is one to avoid… actually I was surprised it was sold out… but I definitely wouldn’t put it on the “Must See” list either.  I, for one, will not be going to bed dreading the horrors I saw nor laughing at the comedic performance (unlike last night).

Here’s my rating:

502px-Factory_svg502px-Factory_svgfactory half   2.5 / 5 factories

One response to “Fringe Factory Review #7

  1. Mr.Moreau,(re: GPC)
    Not that I care any more- but why
    did you not communicate that you already had a nomination meeting- and that some unknown
    Jacqueline Romanow- whom none of us have met , is now the candidate for Winnipeg – Centre!
    I guess I am just too old to swallow this silly game- while I watch the buildings of Winnipeg
    being slowly demolished.

    Take care,
    Recovered from the Fringe;
    Cheers!

Leave a comment