Review from the Fringe #2

B-Girlz Provide A-List Performance

The show, The B-List,  starts with a video depicting the out-of-control antics of the three B-Girlz:  Barbie-Q, Hard Kora and Ivana K.  The vignette is professionally done and does a great job of poking fun at the downfalls of modern celebrities.

When the troupe takes the stage, they do so with plenty of energy and sexual innuendo.  Much of the show is devoted to poking fun at celebrity mishaps through song and dance.  Now I must admit that while I’ve never been too interested in the not-so-intimate lives of celebrities, I was thoroughly entertained throughout this performance.  The song and dance routines are expertly choreographed and make perfect use of props.  Many of the songs performed by the B-Girlz are parodies of popular hits from throughout the ages, evoking the likes of Weird Al Yankovic.  Their timing, lyrics and eye for subtle gestures is really quite astounding.  Even though their singing could be describe as “karaoke-quality,”  it somehow adds to the charm of the whole performance.

I must admit that I may be a bit biased because I was called on stage to take part in a Canadian trivia challenge and got a free t-shirt and noise maker out of the deal.  I’m not sure what I’m going to do with the shirt because the label tells me it’s an “S”, which I can only assume means “Skin tight”… I’m sure I can find some use for it.

For their ability to sustain a high level of energy throughout their entire performance, their great choreography and their ability to demonstrate the subtle while performing the exaggerated, I rate this performance a:  Monorail.

  The Monorail – It gives you a ride that you seldom get to experience.  The pace is extremely rapid, yet smooth. You will want to tell your friends and family members all about it.

Free Press review – 4 stars
CBC review – 3 aces

3 responses to “Review from the Fringe #2

  1. The best show of the Fringe in years is “Sherlock Holmes and the Saline Solution”, imo.

    Go check that one out if you only see one more show.

  2. Wow! Don Street Blog is even a bit more famous. The B-Girlz quoted from my review. Other reviewers are the Free Press, Sun and CBC. Check it out here: http://www.b-girlz.com/

    I’ll try not to let it go to my head!

  3. Pingback: This Blog Has Been Hijacked « Don Street Blog

Leave a Reply

